Giveaways

Blogiversary Giveaway!

What a celebratory week for me! First, my birthday. Now, a couple days later my first blog anniversary. And this is my 100th post.

It’s been a very long year with lot’s of ups & downs that have made me incredibly grateful to be part of the online sewing & knitting communities. You all have been so supportive & such an inspiration. Thank you. I really appreciate everyone who reads this blog & every comment & like I receive.

I started this blog because I was part of the 1912 project– free patterns in exchange for blogging about them. Then I challenged myself to making one thing every single week. While it was hard it was also amazingly fun & rewarding. But then I had to move. Moving put a kink in my productivity & since no one played along with me for months after the first week I stopped Make It Mondays. After that, Frosting Fortnight came along & I put out (with the help of some guest bloggers) almost a post a day for two weeks. Shortly thereafter I met up with some truly wonderful bloggers. And now I’ve started a podcast. My listeners are few- I have only put out two episodes- but I have high hopes for this little project. To top it all off I was nominated by three different people for blog awards. And I have some super huge news. I hope to tell you all about it later this month. I’m really excited!

I thought there would be no better way to express my gratitude to all of you for reading my blog than by hosting a little giveaway.


First up is a real spool of thread in the color of your choice to go along with an earbud holder shaped like a spool of thread. I like a bit of surrealism so had to buy this for a giveaway when I saw it awhile ago. Actually, I bought it before I even though about making a podcast, but it goes pretty well with my Stitches podcast. If you’re a knitter & don’t sew I’ll send you some heel reinforcement yarn for sock darning instead of a real spool of thread.

Spool of thread in the color of your choice with a spool shaped earbud holder.

Spool of thread in the color of your choice with a spool shaped earbud holder.

Second is McCall’s 6331, a Palmer Pletsch dress & romper with a vaguely 50’s feel.

McCall's 6331

Third, McCall’s 6027, a dress with eight gores.

McCall's 6027

Fourth, a winter coat. I believe this one has been discontinued, so you can’t get it in stores any more.

Vogue 8465

And finally, fifth, Simplicity 2154. I think this one is about to be discontinued. It’s a retro pattern from the 60’s & includes a blouse, pencil skirt, cardigan & jacket.Β Simplicity 2154

Rules:

  1. Leave me a comment below saying which of the giveaway lots you’d like to win, if it’s just one or all of them. Also say what you like about my blog & what you’d like to see more of. You could tell me you don’t like anything about my blog at all, but it is my birthday week. I think there’s some rule somewhere about having to be nice to people when it’s their birthday.
  2. For five extra entries you can also follow my blog, follow me on Pinterest, follow me on Twitter, tweet about this giveaway, or post about this giveaway on your blog. To get credit make sure you mention all the extra things you do in the same comment that lists the lot(s) you’re trying to win.

This giveaway is open until midnight CST next Friday, February 8th. And now I’ll leave you with what may be the best picture of all time. *update: it’s not my cat- I wish it were! It’s just some wonderfully amazing fashion designer feline in the making that my boyfriend saw on the internet.

43 thoughts on “Blogiversary Giveaway!

  1. Hi there! So glad I came across your blog – I love finding other sewing bloggers in chicago πŸ™‚ This is a great giveaway – I would #5 – the pattern has been on my to-get-list for awhile now! I also can’t help loving #1, and #3 is pretty great too. I am officially a follower via blogger – can’t wait to see your next project!

  2. Happy Birthday!! Thanks so much for the birthday giveaway. I love your blog as is, so no need to change it up. It’s perfect. πŸ˜€

    I’d love a chance to win giveaway #1 or #2. Yay!

    I also follow you via Google Reader (primarily), Twitter, and Pinterest. And I tweeted about the giveaway, too. πŸ™‚

    Have a fantastic birthday and great weekend!

  3. What a fabulous giveaway! I think giveaway #3 is fun – I’m not sure I’m ready for a coat from #4, as my skills are just developing, but I could handle the dress πŸ™‚ – I follow you on Pinterest and I follow your blog. What I like about your blog is that you write about all sorts of things and inspire ideas beyond just our sewing interests!!

  4. I love your blog and I would love giveaway #2! I think I originally found your blog through your Vintage Halloween Costumes post which is still my favourite, but I follow your blog (and Pinterest) because I love your style. I really like that you do posts on things like the bralette, something that I consistently fail at. If you could do a post on dress forms, what to look for/ what not to look for, that would be great! I really want one but still get cold feet every time I go to buy.

    Happy Birthday Week!

  5. Happy birthday, happy birthday, its your happy day. Happy birthday, Happy birthday, lets celebrate today. I would love Simplicity 2154 please.

  6. Oh my goodness, kitty is so cute! I have one JUST like that, he helps me with everything. Or likes to think he does, anyway πŸ™‚ I would be very interested in the giveaway Number 4, the Vogue Winter coat. Fabulous! And I am now following your twitter account and your blog. I am a newbie, so will have to follow you and find out more about you site before I can really comment. However, the one thing I DEFINITELY like about your site is your kitty helper :). I am having a giveaway on my blog as well, if you’d like to check it out. Happy Birthday!

  7. I’ve just discovered your blog and have really enjoyed reading about all the things you do! I never learned to knit, but love sewing and gardening. It’s great to find a blog with something for everyone! I like the gored dress, so thank you for entering me in giveaway 3, and what sewist can resist another spool of thread? So giveaway 1, also. Thank you so much!

  8. Gosh so many things to say! First, Happy Birthday Week! I love making my birthday into a week, if not the whole dang month. It’s super fun! Second, I am really lazy about following other sewists so you being on wordpress makes it easy for me to be your new sewing buddy. I found you through Leila of Three Dresses Project. Third, I love your outfit in your header. Gorgeous! Most of my sewing this year is wool or heavy skirts and leggings. Fourth, as I just started your blog I can’t critque yet. But now that I have found your blog expect lots of comments! Fifth, I am kinda super excited about your giveway because of the coat, #4. I have yet to make a coat, so it would be a pretty fantastic challenge.

    Good for you for 100 blog posts! I am close and will probably do something very similiar in May for my own birthday.

    PS:
    Nice to meet you. My name is MaLora and I use too many exclamation points.

  9. I can’t believe you started this blog when the 1912 project started. Seems like you’ve been blogging forever. Happy Birthday, by the way! And happy bloggiversary! There is cake, yeah? I love the earbud holder. How clever. And seriously, they could do anything sewing related and we’d all buy I amirite?

    • You’re completely right! Similar things happen when they slap Hello Kitty on things. There are new Singer sewing machines for kids with Hello Kitty stuck all over them. It was so hard to convince myself that yes, my two year old niece is probably too young for a sewing machine.

  10. I just discovered your blog and love reading about your creative projects. I too love learning and trying new things so your blog appeals to me. I am currently following you in my Google reader. I am currently in the de-stashing mode so I am interested in the Giveaway #1 spool ear-bud holder. Happy Birthday and Thanks for giveaway!

  11. I love giveaway number one and two!

    Congrats on your many milestones! I like all the different things you write about and the heaps of practical information mixed in with inspirational (for a newb like me!) finished objects. Keep up the good work!

  12. I love your blog because you sew tailored as well as fun things – and your writing/podding is not out to shock people. Tell your beau I love the music on the podcasts too. I don’t knit, just sew and read blogs, So I would love to sew all those patterns.

  13. Happy Birthday – I was introduced to your blog by StephC and have really enjoyed it, particularly frosting fortnight!

    I follow you on Pinterest
    I follow your blog

  14. Happy blogoversary and 100 posts, go you! Wow, I love love LOVE the spool ear bus holder, that is so cool! I would love to go into the draw for that please πŸ™‚ Also I wish that was my cat, I am so going get a photo of my future cat doing that!! πŸ™‚

  15. Sweet-this is really generous of you. I’d like to put in for the 2154 please (it was one of the two ‘downloadable’ patterns I tried to buy during my recent sewingpatternsdotcom disaster). The sewing cat 0o.. just… XD

      • It was a burda but please, please don’t worry about it you’re already being so generous with this giveaway. I rarely ever buy envelope patterns anyway-they are so expensive here and I buy the magazines whenever I can find them so I’m all good. Thanks so much for the offer though, you’re too kind..

  16. I started reading your blog during Frosting Fortnight. I really like your blog as is, especially your telling us what you might do different or what you learned from a particular project; but if I had to say, additional topics might be more on fitting and upcycling. I don’t wish to enter the giveaway, because I have tons of patterns. Nor do I want the Abyssinian kitty, because they are smarter than I am (and probably better sewists, too). I just want to thank you for your blog, wish you happy Birthday, and Happy Blogiversary.

  17. Aww that is the cutest sewing cat photo! Happy birthday and 100th post! Thanks for the giveaway! I’d love to enter for 1, 2, and 3. I’m following on bloglovin.com and love seeing what you sew. All the best!

  18. Happy Blogiversary and Happy Birthday too. I love to following your blog on WordPress. I admire your sewing enthusiasm. Although I am not new to sewing, I am new to blogging so I really enjoy reading your post as I continue to learn. If I were to win something I would like either Giveaway #2 or #3. Neither of those partterns would fit me but, I have grown daughters that I sew for on occasion. Congratulations!

  19. Happy birthday! I like seeing your finished projects best. Any of the giveaway items would be fun to win though I probably wouldn’t use the coat pattern. I follow you on Google.

  20. As a fledgling blogger, I congratulate you! It’s good to see that perseverance pays off. Sometimes I worry if I’m doing it all wrong. And happy birthday too! I hope everyone’s nice!

    I am a fan of your blog, I follow you in wordpress already, and most of all I like your enthusiasm. It really shines through in your writing.

    If I were to win anything, I would LOVE that spool of thread for earphones, such a fun idea! Failing that the 60s reprint pattern is certainly up my street.

  21. Many Happy blog returns ! You blog about sewing, why wouldn’t I like it? Now I see your glorious garments are quietly stitched by the assistant in the back room.
    I love your giveaways but am sitting on my hands, as I already have way too many patterns, and a slightly odd home-made earbud holder which works for me, but I can see why you went for that one, it even looks like one of the wooden spools Coats thread used to be sold on.

  22. Happy Birthday! πŸ™‚ and is that your cat?! Looks like a cousin to ours!

    Can you believe it has been a year since the 1912 got rolling? I’m dying to listen to the podcasts. What I’d like to see more of is fitting, a huge mental hurdle for me! I’m working on shoulders and sleeves for a sweater, fitting as I go–help! I wish we were closer and could help each other! …holding my breath for your announcement. πŸ™‚

    • I really wish we lived closer together too! How many others do I know of that love both architecture & sewing? And I wish it were my cat, but alas it’s not. There should definitely be some fitting posts in the future- you know what I’m up to! And I on that note I may need your opinions on a guacamole recipe πŸ™‚ If you want to enter the giveaway, let me know which items you’re interested in.

What's on your mind?

