Baking / Cooking / Menu / Sewing

The Perfect Pair for Traveling, a free pattern & recipe

Frosting Fortnight is nearing its end so I present you with our last, but certainly not least, guest blogger, Rhonda of Rhonda’s Creative Life.


Tell us a bit about your sewing & what we should expect to see when we read your blog.
I love to draft patterns and I especially enjoy coming up with new ideas for garments. On Fridays I share a new idea based on simple shapes, rectangles, squares, circles, with a triangle thrown in from time to time. On Saturdays, I showcase a new sleeve and explain how it is drafted. The sleeves can be adapted to just about any commercial pattern. During the week I talk about projects that I am currently working on.

What’s your stance, frosting, cake, or both?
I love to sew frosting with a passion.

Just because we love one more than the other doesn’t mean we’ll always make it a lot. What do you find yourself sewing more, frosting or cake?
A beautiful evening gown is such a joy to create, but sadly, evening gowns aren’t worn on a daily basis!! So, the staple of my wardrobe sewing is cake. But cake can be fun as well.

What’s your favorite piece of frosting that you’ve ever sewn?
My favorite piece of frosting is a dress that I call my Cinderella dress. It’s lovely. It drapes over the shoulders and dips in the back. The dress is made up of three layers of fabric. The outside layer is a light blue chiffon with small sequins embedded in the fabric. The center layer is also chiffon and has huge blue cabbage roses printed on it. The final layer acts as a lining but adds one more layer of shine as it is covered in glitter. The dress is a delight to wear.

What’s your favorite piece of cake that you’ve ever sewn?
My favorite piece of cake borders on being frosting, but I can wear it on more occasions. I wove an entire skirt out of ribbons. I wear the skirt every chance I get!

The Perfect Travel Dress worn as a dress.

Cinched up so it can be worn as a top & paired with pants.

Give us the history behind this recipe & dress.

The piece I chose for this blog is one of my Fabulous Free Pattern Friday designs. I call it the Perfect Travel Dress (click here for pattern). There are drawstrings on the sides of the skirt and along the shoulders which enables the wearer to wear the piece in many different ways. It can be worn as a dress, it at can be drawn up and worn with tights, if can be drawn up more and worn as a blouse.

It also layers well with other pieces.

I chose the Zucchini Bread/Cake recipe to pair with the piece as the colors are so similar and this bread/cake is also perfect for multiple occasions. It’s great for breakfast, wonderful as a mid morning snack with a cup of tea, or an afternoon snack and it’s wonderful paired with fruit and served as a dessert. And best of all, it travels well, just like the dress!

Yummy zucchini bread.

Zucchini Bread
3 Eggs
1 cup of oil
2 Cups of sugar
2 cups of grated zucchini
2 teaspoons of vanilla
1 cup of chopped nuts
Blend above and set aside.
In another bowl combine,
2 cups of flour
1/4 teaspoon of baking powder
2 teaspoons of baking soda
3 teaspoons of cinnamon
1 teaspoon of salt

Combine all dry ingredients and slowly add to wet ingredients.
When all combined, pour into a greased tube pan or 2 loaf pans.
Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour or until knife inserted comes our clean.
Allow to cool. Remove from pan and enjoy!

9 thoughts on “The Perfect Pair for Traveling, a free pattern & recipe

What's on your mind?

