Menu / Sewing

The Coolest Kid

We’ve seen some fantastic things during Frosting Fortnight: Laura’s vintage creations, Jennifer’s lace corset, outfits made of chocolate & cake, dresses made of vegetables. All wonderful things made by adults. Sometimes inspiration comes from other sources though.

Every day Stella Ehrhart dresses up as a different person, most of whom she learned about in the book 100 Most Important Women of the 20th Century. She’s been Billie Holiday, Aung San Suu Kyi, Laura Ingalls Wilder, Grace Kelly, her best friend Virginia Holtzclaw, Queen Elizabeth, Georgia O’Keefe, & Jan Brady just to name a few.

She’s been dressing up like this for over a year, since the second day of the second grade. Stella is eight years old. She lives in Omaha, Nebraska, where her teachers & fellow students are all supportive of her outfits, both the obvious costumes & the subtle ones.

When I heard about Stella I was blown away. I hope you’re inspired by this amazing person too.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All pictures come from Omaha.com, where I originally heard about Stella.

13 thoughts on “The Coolest Kid

  1. Pingback: Day of the Dead Clothes (And Skeletons From My Closet) « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

  2. Oh! What an interesting, interesing little girl! I doubt we’ve seen the last of her (assuming she makes it through to adulthood in one piece…)! Wow! I used to dress like that sometimes, but I’m really amazed and excited about her devotion to it. What a cool girl.

    • In the article I read her classmates all seemed supportive, but it was a little difficult to believe that she never got picked on. Then again, when you’re in second grade your peers might still be wanting to play dress up too.

  3. Oh my gosh, I wish I had known here when I was eight. I get teary eyed. She’s so free. I love it. When I was young I would dress as fruit. If I was in all yellow I was a lemon, red maybe a cherry. Green broccoli. My mom made all my clothes too. OK, now I feel more than a little geeky putting this all out on the internet. But, there you go. Here’s to those young up and coming lovers of fabric, fashion and fun!

What's on your mind?

