Knitting

Roositud Knitting for Punks

Fear not beloved, I have not abandoned thee. It’s just, you’re a little fat… I mean bulky. You know, awkwardly obtuse.

This I tell my sewing machine in regards to why I have abandoned it in favor of knitting during my move. Small knitting projects are much more portable. But I promise, I’m getting back to sewing real soon. My baby won’t go bored for long. In the meantime, I’ve finished another knitting project.

Roositud, knitting, mitts

Yeah that’s me standing here. I’m super tough.

Roositud knitting is cool. It’s a traditional Estonian color knitting method where you don’t actually knit the colored yarn you’re adding. It’s as if you take the floats you’d normally find in color work & put them to the front. This makes it look like embroidery, but no awkward plastic knitting embroidery needle.

Roositud, knitting, mitts

What are you lookin at punk? Best be careful before I bring it.

The pattern, Forest Flower Mitts by Nancy Bush, comes from ColorKnits, a cool digital magazine put out by Interweave Press on color knitting (although my favorite of their digital magazines is Sockupied, obviously for the sock obsessed). It has patterns, tips, tutorials & videos.

Roositud, knitting, mitts

One look at my polka dots should have scared you off. Watch out, here I come. Get ready for a beating!

I’m pretty new to knitting with patterns & this one was very easy to follow. Plus, the mitts knit up super fast. Well, things would have gone much faster if I hadn’t done some nap knitting on the second mitt- fall asleep, groggily wake up & knit only to realize you’ve really cocked things up & need to rip out a bunch of rows. So let me restate that, the first mitt was super fast & easy to knit; the second made me want to throw the project, needles & all, against the wall. Plus my tension somehow became a lot looser on the second mitt. Consequently, it’s bigger & I’m even more frustrated. Do you think blocking will help? I’ve never actually blocked before, which I know deserves a good finger waggle from experienced knitters.

And before I forget, look at that green sneaking its way in again! Some of those flower petals are even lime green (same yarn as my seaweed socks). I wanted to knit these from stash & naturally the most of a single color way (in fingering weight yarn) I could find was green. But they are all a little different in loft & thickness & even pliability. The dark green is hemp, so it’s harder & doesn’t like to cooperate as well as the others, which is why I had a hard time getting it to lie exactly where I wanted it. The rest are wool blends that lie on the knitting pretty easily.

The best thing about this project was that I gave myself the latitude to not be perfect. Yarn not lying right? Oh well, looks good enough. It let me focus on enjoying the knitting instead of obsessing over tiny details that only another knitter would notice.

Roositud, kitting, mitts

Wait, isn’t starting your new colors an entire row too soon a big mistake? Yes. I’m still mad about it & considering taking out that bit of color work & redoing it with an actual embroidery needle. And that’s the beauty of roositud. You can do that without having to rip out everything you’ve knit because the color is wrapped around your knitting.

That’s why I’m ready for more roositud, but a quick glance around the intarwebs reveals few patterns, so I may have to make my own, an exciting prospect.

For some technical details, chek out my ravelry page.

This picture is the closest I could get to the actual colors of the greens (& one yellow) I used.

4 thoughts on “Roositud Knitting for Punks

  1. Pingback: Noro Mitts | Disparate Disciplines

  2. Pingback: Celebrating 200 Years of Pride & Prejudice | Disparate Disciplines

  3. Pingback: Roositud Knitting for Punks « Disparate Disciplines | Fiber Arts | Scoop.it

  4. Pingback: Roositud Knitting for Punks « Disparate Disciplines | Knitting Instructions

What's on your mind?

