Miscellaneous

Disparately Dorky Links

A real tintype! Which come out as mirror images, so the writing on his shirt was actually backwards.

Every now & then I’m going to post a few links to articles I’ve found interesting. So far my blog had been more focused on domestic disciplines than disparate disciplines. While many of the articles I read tend to have that slant, I like to make my reading more well rounded. Besides, some of the best inventions & ideas have been inspired by a disparate discipline. Many of my favorites are from nature.

There’s the one that many people are familiar with: Velcro inspired by a man who loved to take walks but hated how burrs would get stuck to his pants.

Also, new solar panels are being developed to mimic a plant undergoing photosynthesis.

And my absolute favorite, the marriage of nature & architecture. Louis Sullivan (one of the fathers of modern architecture) solved the dilemma of the skyscraper by coming up with his ‘germ theory’. When skyscrapers were brand spanking new (some people were so afraid that a building over six stories would fall down that they banned them in the city you would least expect- New York) no one quite knew how they should function. Sullivan said they should be like an abstracted plant, with different areas of the building functioning like the different parts of a plant. It’s a model that’s still used today. Then, Frank Lloyd Wright came along & abstracted not just one aspect of nature into a building, but an entire landscape. That’s why his early style was called the prairie school, the buildings were abstractions of the prairie landscape of the Midwest. It’s a concept that’s also still influencing design today.

I hope my dorky ramblings haven’t bored you guys & I hope you enjoy the following articles.

I hope you enjoyed these links!

Not that you could tell, but we’re pointing tiny water pistols at each other & I’ve got a huge scowl on my face.

P.S. The pictures I posted are scans of real tintypes that my boyfriend & I had taken this past weekend at a reenactment/carnival celebrating the 175th anniversary of the city of Chicago. They had a bunch of police costumes there that you could borrow. I got to dress up on a +90F day (luckily I had my moisture wicking sports top on) in a long black trench coat with a plastic bowler hat & attack the rabble with a cap gun & a foam night stick. My most heated battle was with a little boy wielding a foam brick. He almost knocked my hat & glasses off! The bricks were much more effective than the batons. OK, I might have also been lacking that reckless abandon that a child would get when told they could get into a cops & robbers fight with adults & beat them up without getting into trouble. I swear I’m not a whimp! Chicago history is violent- & this wasn’t even a reenactment of the Haymarket Riots or mob related activity. Just good, old fashioned Chicago police brutality 1800’s style. But better, obviously because no one died, but also because there were water balloons & tiny water guns.

5 thoughts on “Disparately Dorky Links

  1. Sleeves to finish, then another Louisa Harding cardigan are in line ahead of the sock yarn I got at the Black Sheep Festival in June. I’ve never made socks, so your fitting survey link is helpful! I want to try toe-fitted L & R socks. 🙂 And I probably, maybe, and don’t live in a city (~160K). hmm…interesting post!

    • Isn’t that always how it goes- a long list of fun things to make. Good luck on your socks. I’d love to see a post when they’re done. Your knitted things are so pretty. I really like the idea of making socks, but I’ve only ever made one, not even a full pair. Glad to hear you enjoyed the post! I was worried it might be too scattered.

What's on your mind?

