Dresses / Sewing

The Busty Bunnies Dress

The Busty Bunnies Dress is so named because, clearly, this dress shows some décolletage. It’s also made out of a novelty 1930’s reproduction line entitled “Toybox” with little bunnies on it. I like irony.

I also just plain like bunnies. I’m a bunny, at least my zodiac sign is. Growing up, there was a tiny rabbit warren outside my bedroom window. So, until the day I get a pet bunny of my own (an albino with glow-in-the-dark pink eyes like Bunincula, which is one of the best children’s books ever), I will be snatching up fabric with little bunnies on it.

Vogue 8718’s dress pattern is a pleasure to sew. For one, I was actually able to use my “real” pattern size. The only modifications I had to do were bringing in the bust a little & the back a fair bit. I wish all patterns were this easy!

Here’s my review of the pattern for the patternreview.com Natural Fibers Contest. This is the first contest I’ve entered for sewing- fingers crossed- although there is some tough competition out there!

Pattern Description: Fitted, mid-knee, lined, sleeveless dress (option C) has pieced front bodice, darts, back zipper and back slit.

Pattern Sizing: 14-20, I made a 14.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow? I didn’t refer to them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like that I was able to use my “true” pattern size with minimal modifications. I wish there were different bra sizes for the bust though.

Fabric Used: A 100% cotton 1930’s reproduction with little bunnies on it.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I shaved down the bust cups a bit. To get a better fit I also took in the bodice just under the bust, where there are mirrored darts. I can’t remember the technical term, but they’ve taper down on both ends instead of just one. For the part that tapers to just under the bust, I made it end like a regular dart so I could take up some excess fabric. I also lowered the hem by about an inch. Finally, I contoured the back where the zipper goes to match the curve of my back.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes! The dress just about fits like a glove, but has enough room to move. It’s very flattering & makes a great date night dress.

Conclusion: What else can I say? I love it. It fits well & the pattern on the fabric is so cute. 

6 thoughts on “The Busty Bunnies Dress

  1. Pingback: 2012, The Year of Making Things « Disparate Disciplines

What's on your mind?

