Cooking / Gardening / Knits / Make It Monday / Outterwear / Sewing

The Second Make It Monday

The second week into the project & I’m having my doubts. Can I really keep this up every week? What about when finals time swings around? Perhaps during those times I can focus on making simpler things, like tackling a new recipe.

Won’t I get tired of making things for myself all the time? Since I was raised in a materialistic family, I probably won’t get bored too soon, but I also don’t want to accumulate too much. This might be a good excuse to start making things for others. I get very embarrassed when I look into my closet & then look into my boyfriend’s- I’ve got so much stuff already! How does he manage to survive with so little?

But, my closet is full of things I don’t wear. I find myself going back to the same old outfits, partly because it’s easier & comfortable, partly because it can be like visiting old friends (for re-experiencing the feeling that wearing a great outfit can give you), & partly because I feel stuck in a rut. Oh, that old shirt again- I haven’t really worn it in awhile, but I can’t get rid of it because what if I want to wear it again soon? I think if I convert my closet to mostly things I’ve made & am proud of, I will be less afraid to get rid of old clothing. This, I suppose, is ironic- I’m making things to get rid of things! But I really believe if I make things I love, I’ll be more willing to get rid of things I’m ambivalent towards. It will also hopefully mean I use everything in my closet instead of just staring at it every now & then as I wage a war in my head (Keep it! Toss it! Donate it to a thrift shop! But I’ll NEED it one day!).

Recently, I’ve been a little obsessed with making hoodies- which actually has nothing to do with Trayvon Martin. I finally got this pattern I had seen & coveted months ago & have already made it up twice in one week. Here is the second & final  rendition, at least until I find some heavier knit fabric I like.

The lime green polka dotted hoodie, my second rendition of Burda 7433.

This mini-obsession is rather a good thing because I have a few older hoodies that are really starting to look their age. So, in accordance with my closet makeover goals, I’m off to a good start. It’s also nice to be able to justify the “need” to make something.

It's lime green so I'm more visible on my bike.

This week I also rearranged my garden & sowed dozens of seeds. It was a train wreck.  Really. And somehow I cleared everything up, organized all my junk & sowed a bunch of seeds in just two hours.

Maybe I shouldn’t be so worried about keeping up the pace with which I make things- I seem to be going full steam ahead. And this is, after all, supposed to be fun.

3 thoughts on “The Second Make It Monday

  1. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’12 « Disparate Disciplines

    • I’d be happy to have a guest post. Part of the reason I’m doing this is to help get others involved, which is why there’s an open invitation for participants on the Make It Mondays rules page. I went to art school & one of the most common complaints I hear from my friends is that they don’t have enough time or energy to make things now that they’ve graduated. I’m hoping that this weekly deadline to make something, no matter how small & utilitarian, will help inspire others (as well as myself) to start regularly making things again. So, if you’ve got anything, send it along. I’d love to post it for an upcoming Make It Monday!

What's on your mind?

